Select Page

Maintenance of Certification (MOC) was established in 2000 by the American Board of Medical Specialties. The maintenance of certification programs were created with input from thousands of physicians across the country. It provides physicians with a pathway to know that they are staying current in the medical knowledge they use to treat patients and make important care decisions daily.

These programs include new assessment options and focus on an increased understanding and recognition of the work physicians do every day.

Maintaining certification improves value of patient and caregiver care without sacrificing quality. To maintain certification physicians must demonstrate ongoing learning and care improvement.  The fourth component of MOC (MOC Part IV) concerns assessing and improving performance in practice.

Check with your individual certifying board to confirm requirements and deadlines. 

MOQC QI Initiatives that qualify for Part IV credit

ABIM: Medical Oncology Maintenance of Certification

ABOG: Gynecologic Oncology Maintenance of Certification

Michigan Medicine
MOC Page